

MÉTIS NATION-SASKATCHEWAN (MN-S)

RESOLUTION

MÉTIS NATION LEGISLATIVE ASSEMBLY

DATE: FEBRUARY 21, 2021 RESOLUTION NO. 02-2021-10

TITLE: RATIFICATION OF MINISTERIAL APPOINTMENTS

SUBJECT: Ministerial Appointments

MOVED BY: Marg Friesen, Minister OFFICE: Eastern Region 3

SECONDED BY: Earl Cook, Minister OFFICE: Northern Region 1

DECISION: CARRIED (56 in favour; Viola Bell and 16 opposed; 3 abstentions)

RESOLUTION:

WHEREAS Articles 2.4 and 4.4(b) of the Constitution of the Métis Nation – Saskatchewan (the "Constitution") confer upon the President the sole discretion to assign Ministerial portfolios, subject to the approval of the Provincial Métis Council (PMC) and ratification by the Métis Nation Legislative Assembly (MNLA);

WHEREAS Article 2.4 of the Constitution further mandates that the assignment of Ministerial portfolios is restricted to members of the MNLA;

WHEREAS President Glen McCallum determined it in the best interests of the Métis Nation – Saskatchewan (MN-S) that certain Ministerial portfolios be reorganized and reassigned to promote an efficient and responsive government;

WHEREAS on July 27, 2020, the President directed that the Ministerial portfolios be reassigned effective the same date, until such time as the PMC confirm its approval of the same at its next duly held meeting - to be ratified at the next MNLA;

WHEREAS the PMC confirmed its approval of the Ministerial portfolio reassignments and Ministerial appointments as directed by President Glen McCallum on July 27, 2020, at its duly held meeting on December 3, 2020;



MÉTIS NATION-SASKATCHEWAN (MN-S)

RESOLUTION

THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED THAT the MNLA hereby ratifies the PMC's approval of the following Ministerial portfolio reassignments and Ministerial appointments as directed on July 27, 2020 by President Glen McCallum:

- Child and Family Services Minister Penny Hurton
- Economic Development and Tourism Minister Leonard Montgrand
- Education and Early Learning Minister Earl Cook
- Environment Minister Mervin "Tex" Bouvier
- Finance Minister Earl Cook
- Health Minister Marg Friesen
- Housing and Infrastructure Minister Ryan Carriere
- Inter-Nation Relations Minister Loretta King
- Justice Minister Gerald Morin
- Language, Culture and Heritage Minister Sherry McLennan
- Sports and Recreation Minister Billy Kennedy
- Veterans Minister Loretta King
- Women and Gender Equality Minister Tammy Mah
- Youth Minister Jaycee Bell.

Certified copy of this resolution adopted on February 21, 2021 in Saskatoon, Saskatchewan



Richard Quintal
Clerk of the Métis Nation Legislative Assembly