

MÉTIS NATION-SASKATCHEWAN (MN-S)

RESOLUTION

MÉTIS NATION LEGISLATIVE ASSEMBLY

DATE: NOVEMBER 28, 2021

RESOLUTION NO. #MNLA211128-04

TITLE: RATIFICATION OF MINISTERIAL APPOINTMENTS

SUBJECT: Resolution to Ratify Ministerial Appointments

MOVED BY: Ryan Carriere, Minister **OFFICE:** Eastern Region 1

SECONDED BY: Sherry McLennan, Minister Western Region 2 OFFICE:

DECISION: CARRIED (46 voted in favour, 16 in opposition, 9 abstained)

RESOLUTION (Recorded as #MNLA211128-04 in the MNLA Minutes):

WHEREAS Article 2.4 of the Constitution of the Métis Nation – Saskatchewan (the Constitution) provides that the President shall assign and recommend portfolios, subject to the approval of the Provincial Métis Council (PMC) and ratification by the Métis Nation Legislative Assembly (MNLA);;

WHEREAS Article 2.4 of the Constitution further mandates that the assignment of portfolios shall be restricted to members of the MNLA:

WHEREAS President Glen McCallum made the following Ministerial Portfolio appointments on July 20, 2021 in Saskatoon, Saskatchewan:

- Child Family Services Minister Kathie Pruden Nansel
- Culture and Heritage Minister Sherry Ann McLennan
- Economic Development President Glen McCallum
- Early Learning Childcare and Education Minister Tim J.W. Roussin
- Land and Environment Vice President Michelle LeClair
- Finance Minister Marg Friesen
- Justice Vice President Michelle LeClair
- Health Minister Marg Friesen
- Housing and Infrastructure Minister Ryan Carriere
- Inter-Nation Relations President Glen McCallum and Vice President Michelle LeClair
- Language Minister Laura Burnouf

- Post-Secondary Education and Skills Development Minister Leonard Montgrand
- Sports Minister Billy Kennedy
- Tourism Minister Brent Wilford John Digness
- Veterans Minister Mervin "Tex" Bouvier
- Women and Gender Equity Minister Loretta King
- Youth Minister Autumn LaRose-Smith

THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED THAT the MNLA ratifies the PMC's approval of the Ministerial Portfolio appointments made by President Glen McCallum.

This is a certified copy of this resolution adopted on November 28, 2021 in Saskatoon, Saskatchewan.

Richard Quintal

Clerk of the Métis Nation Legislative Assembly